Riley “Leroy” Helton 1811-1892

He was in the Confederacy.  It must have been good for him as his age lessened as time passed, but I guess it caught up to him as they let him go because of his advanced age.

Leroy was born 1811 in Sparta, White Co., TN.

He died on July 9, 1892 in Dibrell, Warren, TN.

I went to Dibrell and found a cemetery but didn’t see him in it.  Well, you know what I mean, his tombstone.

Perhaps he died on his property and was buried there.  I even harassed some natives and asked them if there were any Heltons around town nowadays.

They said no.  I think I said Heltons.

I remember seeing Helton streets and a Helton Church, but I couldn’t find anyone home who knew who they were named after.

Leroy married Nancy (Morris) Clark McGowan or McGowen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riley “Leroy” Helton 1811-1892

  1. Alisa (Helton) James says:

    Do you have any information on his parents?

Leave a comment